Monday Mug Shot

D1C1678B-1883-4F04-9BFC-C196A59E6B3B

Today’s mug is in honor of my home state.  It’s heavy on my heart today due to the devastating fires that are going on there.  The “Camp Fire” in Northern California is being called “The most destructive fire in state history” according to CBS News.  The evacuation of 250,000 people from Malibu in Southern California was a horrifying thing to see as I watched some footage from it on T.V. last night.  My heart hurts for my fellow Californians and my prayers are going up for my friends, family, and all of those who have lost so much in these terrible fires!

I acquired this mug during our most recent visit to our hometown of Concord this past May.  There is a brand new shopping area where a Chevron office building stood when we left in 2006.  In that shopping area is a Peet’s coffee.  It was close to our hotel, so this was where I got most of my morning coffee.  We don’t have Peet’s coffee here in Central Texas, or at least not that I’ve been able to find, so this mug really needed to come home with me.  😉

This is the exact store we visited.  Normally, this mug puts me in a California dreamin’ state of mind; sunshine, cool breezes, no humidity, and reminds me of my roots.  Today it reminds me to pray; for rain, for safety, for comfort, for ways to help and for the recovery of my beautiful home state once the devastation passes.  This isn’t our first season of wildfires and it won’t be our last, but it is proving itself to be one of the most devastating.  Please pray and help if you can.

Blessings!  🙏🏻💕

Leave a comment

I’m Brenda

A 63-year young devoted follower of Christ and lover of life. Welcome to my little space on the internet where I share all kinds of things about my various interests. I hope you leave here with at least a little nugget of something you can carry with you to make your own journey a little more enjoyable.

Let’s connect